raven song

March 10, 2010

What is new dreaming?

Maybe all of us could do with a new dreaming, individuals, communities, governments, globally. But it starts with me and you, if you like ‘being the change you wish the world to be’. If I cant do it, then I cant expect it of others or my community. The old Yoga saying ‘If you know it and cannot do it, then you don’t know it’, often taps me on the shoulder.

So what is ‘New Dreaming’ for me.For starters it is a new way of being in the world. New song lines for the journey. If the ways that we have been doing things has not worked (struggles for indigenous people, global warming, resource shortages etc) what makes us thing that doing more of those ways will make it any better. Obviously it wont. So we need new ways, new storeys.

Sitting back, reflecting, climbing the mountain, going to our deep wells of knowing. Becoming fully aware of all that is present in our visible world and trying to connect with what is not visible. Acknowledging the universe has more to it than we can see and many, many layers. Can I try to connect with all of that, and If I listen deeply what will come to me and you about new dreaming.

Years ago the Australian Author, George Johnson, talked about his decision to become a writer as ‘getting off the tram to pick the daisies’. When you get to the daisies you will see other wonderful things ahead and you will start to wander along this new path, a new journey. Where will I be? What will I see? what an exciting journey that can be.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

